Mawlana Hazar Imam is expected to arrive in Kazan, Tatarstan on September 11, for 14th Cycle of Aga Khan Award for Architecture

(Publisher-Editor, Simerg, Barakah and Simergphotos)

Further to our earlier story Kazan in Tatarstan, Russia, to host 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture, Barakah is pleased to report from official media sources of the President of Tatarstan that Mawlana Hazar Imam, His Highness the Aga Khan, will arrive in the capital, Kazan, on September 11 (see links below), to participate in the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Ceremony. The actual ceremony will take place on Friday, September 13, and will be webcast live at, the official website of the Ismaili community. This will the 14th cycle of the Aga Khan Award; the first one took place in 1980 at the Shalimar Gardens in Lahore.

Mintimer Shaimiev, the first President of Tatarstan Republic and currrently the State Counselor for the Russian Republic, is expected to welcome Mawlana Hazar Imam on September 11 and 12, and then attend the Award ceremony on Friday, the 13th. Shaimiev, a Muslim, was nationally elected first President of Tatarstan in 2001, and then re-elected twice in 1996 and 2001. In 2005, upon submission of the President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin, the State Council of the Republic of Tatarstan conferred authority of the President of the Republic of Tatarstan on Mintimer Shaimiev. He did not seek presidential nomination for the term beginning 2010, and handed powers to Rustam Minnikhanov. Shaimiev was then appointed State Counselor of the Republic of Tatarstan. His council is constantly engaged with President Minnikhanov’s office in the execution of budgets as well as programs for the socio and economical advancement of Tatarstan.

In a special report announcing The 2019 Winners of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, Cathleen McGuigan, the editor-in-chief of the prestigious 125 year old Architectural Record magazine, writes: “In a profession crowded with prizes, the Aga Khan Award for Architecture remains one of the world’s most significant and influential honors. Established in 1977 by His Highness the Aga Khan, the awards, which are given every three years, shine a light on parts of the globe that are often overlooked by Western critics and professionals…rather than being judged merely by photographs and architect-supplied text, as so many design awards are, the short-listed projects are visited by technical experts who submit detailed reports to the jury.”

Barakah looks forward to providing a comprehensive coverage of Mawlana Hazar Imam’s visit to Kazan. Please visit this website regularly.

Date posted: September 10, 2019.

Before departing this website please take a moment to visit Barakah’s Table of Contents for links to more than 170 pieces dedicated to Mawlana Hazar Imam and his family.


Correction: The original version of this post incorrectly mentioned that the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture was in its 19th cycle. The Award began in 1980, and is given every 3 years. It is now in its 14th cycle and not 19th. We apologize for the error.

*Government of Tatarstan links:

  1.; and
  2. (then select dates – September 11, 12, 13).

Barakah welcomes your feedback. Please complete the LEAVE A REPLY form below or send your comment to Your letter may be edited for length and brevity, and is subject to moderation.

Please join/like Barakah at and also follow us at

This website, Barakah, is a special project by and is dedicated to the textual and visual celebration of His Highness the Aga Khan and members of his family, as well as the Ismaili Imamat.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s